bbbb

DBS Verification during COVID-19

IMPORTANT MESSAGE & DOCUMENTS FROM SAFEGUARDING DIRECTOR IEUAN WATKINS FOR CLUBS REGARDING TEMPORARY DBS PROCESS

Verifier message for Secondary County Wide users and above[2].docx

1 Roles_in_Cricket_that_Require_a_Vetting_Check_2018.pdf

2 How_to_determine_which_roles_are_regulated_activity_with_children_in_cricket.pdf

Good morning all,  

I hope everyone is well and staying positive in these difficult times.  

Whilst playing the game of cricket is on hold, the administration behind the scenes goes on, indeed, the opportunity perhaps to use this unexpected downtime to help clubs become as compliant as they could be with safeguarding arrangements.  

One key area of our safeguarding umbrella is the effective use of the Disclosure and Barring Service (DBS).  Across our Welsh network we have over 200 verifiers now able to sign off DBS applications for individuals in Regulated Activity. Completing verification however without meeting face to face is somewhat difficult!  

The ECB have been working with the DBS and have agreed the attached process.  In essence, video calling between the applicant and a select number of higher level Verifiers has been agreed.  The process:  

1) Following application, the applicant emails the higher level Verifier and requests electronic sign off

2) The applicant sends the verifier scanned/photographed copies of their verification documents

3) Arrangements are made for a video call between applicant and the higher level Verifier where the documents will be checked

4) The Verifier will complete the process and ‘sign off’ the applicant  

NOTES:

- CLUB VERIFIERS WILL HAVE THEIR VERIFICATION ACCESS TEMPORARILY REMOVED

- ONLY HIGHER LEVEL VERIFIERS WILL BE ABLE TO COMPLETE THIS PROCESS (SEE LIST BELOW)

- THIS IS A TEMPORARY ARRANGEMENT, AFTER LOCKDOWN ACCESS WILL BE RESTORED AND FACE TO FACE VERIFICATION WILL RETURN  

Applicants can approach any of the Higher Level Verifiers, who are:  

South East

Derek Picken - derek.picken@talk21.com

Brian Jones - jonsey487@gmail.com

Mark Dixon - mark.dixon@cricketwales.org.uk 

Paul Morgan - Paul.morgan@cricketwales.org.uk

Mark White - mark.white@cricketwales.org.uk 

Bob Szpadt - bobszpadt@aol.com

Tom Damsell - tom.damsell@gdas.wales   

South West

Dave Loosmore - Dave.Loosmore@cricketwales.org.uk

Robin Varley - robin.varley1@btopenworld.com

Steve Davies - Steve.Davies@cricketwales.org.uk

Keri Chahal - keri.chahal@cricketwales.org.uk

Ben Roberts - swcalwo@hotmail.com

Neil Hobbs - neil.hobbs2@btinternet.com

Martin Jones -  mcj2258@gmail.com  

North

Tony Moss -  tonymoss54@gmail.com

Ian Martin - Ian.Martin@cricketwales.org.uk

Sam Painter - Sam.Painter@cricketwales.org.uk

Laura Nicholls - laura.nicholls@cricketwales.org.uk

Sue Wells - sue.wells@cricketwales.org.uk

Ben Garnett - bgarnett94@icloud.com  

Central

Ieuan Watkins – as below

Mark Frost - mark.frost@glamorgancricket.co.uk

Peter Williams - pmw@walesaco.org.uk

Kerry Lloyd - kerry.lloyd@cricketwales.org.uk  

My thanks to the volunteers who have agreed to be our Higher Level Verifiers. I have also attached the ECB guidance which identifies which roles in cricket require a DBS Certificate.  Any difficulties with this process, please contact me.  

Stay safe everyone.     

Ieuan   

ieuan.watkins@cricketwales.org.uk

More News


 

Cricket Wales

 

Sophia Gardens Stadium

@Cricket Wales

Cardiff

Privacy Policy

CF11 9XR

Terms & Conditions

Tel: 029 2041 9341

Contact

Email:info@cricketwales.org.uk