bbbb

IMPORTANT MESSAGE FOR CLUBS REGARDING TEMPORARY DBS PROCESS PLEASE CIRCULATE

You will remember that during the spring lockdown that the Disclosure and Barring Service allowed us to verify DBS applications by using video calls to check identity documents. 

From Sunday the 1st of November we will return to this process, most likely until at least the New Year (when it will be reviewed).   One key area of our safeguarding umbrella is the effective use of the Disclosure and Barring Service (DBS). 

Across the Welsh cricket network we have over 200 verifiers now able to sign off DBS applications for individuals in Regulated Activity.   The ECB have been working with the DBS and have agreed a temporary process.  In essence, video calling between the applicant and a select number of Higher Level Verifiers has been agreed. 

The process:

  • Following application, the applicant emails the higher level Verifier and requests electronic sign off
  • The applicant sends the verifier scanned/photographed copies of their verification documents
  • Arrangements are made for a video call between applicant and the higher level Verifier where the documents will be checked
  • The Verifier will complete the process and ‘sign off’ the applicant  

NOTES:

CLUB VERIFIERS WILL HAVE THEIR VERIFICATION ACCESS TEMPORARILY REMOVED – we are sorry about this, but we need to follow guidance from the Government (DBS is after all a legal process) and also the expectations of the ECB who manage the DBS Licence for us. THIS IS A TEMPORARY ARRANGEMENT, A REVIEW WILL TAKE PLACE IN THE NEW YEAR  

Applicants can approach any of the Higher Level Verifiers, who are:  

South East

Derek Picken - derek.picken@talk21.com

Brian Jones - jonsey487@gmail.com

Mark Dixon - mark.dixon@cricketwales.org.uk  

Paul Morgan - Paul.morgan@cricketwales.org.uk

Mark White - mark.white@cricketwales.org.uk    

 

South West

Dave Loosmore - Dave.Loosmore@cricketwales.org.uk

Robin Varley - robin.varley1@btopenworld.com

Steve Davies - Steve.Davies@cricketwales.org.uk

Keri Chahal - keri.chahal@cricketwales.org.uk

Ben Roberts - swcalwo@hotmail.com

Martin Jones -  Martin.Jones@cricketwales.org.uk   

North

Tony Moss -  tonymoss54@gmail.com

Ian Martin - Ian.Martin@cricketwales.org.uk

Sam Painter - Sam.Painter@cricketwales.org.uk

Sue Wells - sue.wells@cricketwales.org.uk  

Central

Ieuan Watkins – as below

Mark Frost - mark.frost@glamorgancricket.co.uk

Peter Williams - pmw@walesaco.org.uk

Kerry Lloyd - kerry.lloyd@cricketwales.org.uk  

My thanks to the volunteers who have agreed to be our Higher Level Verifiers and for agreeing that we can circulate their email contact details.   I attach the ECB guidance which identifies which roles in cricket require a DBS Certificate as well as a further guidance document around online verification.   Any difficulties with this process, please contact me.   Stay safe and keep smiling.      

Ieuan   Symudol / Mobile : 07971 007431 E-bost / E-mail ieuan.watkins@cricketwales.org.uk

 

to find out more please click here

 



More News


 

Cricket Wales

 

Sophia Gardens Stadium

@Cricket Wales

Cardiff

Privacy Policy

CF11 9XR

Terms & Conditions

Tel: 029 2041 9341

Contact

Email:info@cricketwales.org.uk